NCIS “DiNozzo is leaving the building”

*Main image taken from Michael Weatherly’s Twitter account

One of my all time favorite shows is NCIS. The show has been on the air for 12 seasons now. I love the characters, the team dynamic, the stories and the character relationships. It’s one of the shows that I use for comparison on how to do it right when I watch other TV shows of a similar type. The show was a spin-off from JAG which was before my time. It also has spin-offs of it’s own NCIS: LA and NCIS: New Orleans. I have always loved the original, though I do watch NCIS: LA from time to time.

I was worried that the show would start winding down when Cote de Pablo, who played agent Ziva David left. Then when new character Eleanor “Ellie” Bishop, played by Emily Wickersham joined the team I worried that it might not be a good fit. That her character would feel forced and take away from the show. But it wasn’t the case at least not for me. It was a different dynamic but as a tip of the hat to the show and the actors it felt like it was a natural progression. Then I started to worry again when I heard rumors that Pauley Perrette who plays Abby Sciuto was leaving. Though as far as I know that didn’t pan out and Abby is not leaving. Michael Weatherly who plays agent Tony DiNozzo however, will be leaving the show after this season. In my eyes I now feel like the show is winding down. No show can remain on TV forever, unless it’s a soap opera, those things are on forever. NCIS revolves around main character Leroy Jethro Gibbs played by Mark Harmon. I feel like for awhile now the show has been grooming Tony DiNozzo to take up that role whenever Mark Harmon ever left. Now with Tony leaving to me that feels like a sign of things to come.

I think after his departure there will be an obvious hole in the NCIS team. It will be interesting to see if another character will be added to fill his place. It will also be interesting to see if any other characters leave possibly signalling the impending wrap up of the show. It would be a shame because I really love the show and think it’s one of the top notch shows on the air. However these things go in cycles as viewer’s tastes change. CSI: Miami was one of my favorite shows and it slowly started changing and it was obvious that it was coming to an end. A lot of my favorite characters are still on the show so I will continue to be a faithful viewer. If Mark Harmon says he’s leaving watch out because that means lights out. It would be like Meridith Grey from Grey’s Anatomy leaving. NCIS without Gibbs just wouldn’t be NCIS anymore. 

I want to thank you Michael Weatherly for giving us a character like Tony DiNozzo. He has been one of my favorite NCIS characters and without a doubt one of the reason I watched the show. You will be missed!

tweet
Michael Weatherly message to fans and cast members
