I muffin fluffin love I Hate Fairyland

Skottie Young is one of my favorite comic book artists. I love Skottie Young variant covers and try to collect as many as I can. If you’re not familiar with his style, he usually draws the marvel characters as younger versions of themselves. He uses pop culture terminology and slang in funny ways on some covers. He was writer and artist for the latest Rocket Raccoon comic book. I loved it! It was easily one of my favorite books that I was reading. When I heard that he would be creating his own comic book titled “I Hate Fairyland” last year. I knew it was going to be on my list for sure.

I Hate Fairyland is out and I finally got a chance to read through my issues the other day. I muffin fluffin love it! The story is about a little girl who gets taken away to Fairyland. She then spends 27 years looking for the key in order to get back to the real world. In that time while her body doesn’t age her mind sure as hell does. Which means you get this little girl cussin’, throwin’ bullets and murderlizing pretty much everything in Fairyland. There are such clever little pop culture jokes and references throughout the book. I was honestly smiling and laughing the whole time I was reading it on the train. I enjoy all the comics I read but I enjoy this one in a different way. While most of the other comics out there are very seriously themed, even the funny ones. This one is just plain fun and funny. I had the same reaction when I read Rocket Raccoon. Other comic books make me chuckle here and there but reading I Hate Fairyland. It geniunely makes me laugh and smile the whole time I’m reading it.

This book is definitely not for your 6 or 8 year old though. This is rated M for Mature and it definitely earns that title. If you remember MAD comic books from back in the day. The style and humor in this is very similar. There are violent and graphic scenes in it. They are funny as hell, but still not appropriate for young children. The book is distributed by Image Comics. If I have piqued your interest then get it you wont regret it. Issue 4 just came out last week so you would be joining the story near the beginning.

here is a taste of what you will get in the book

IHateFairyland-preview1-3f132

