9.7″ vs 12.9″ iPad Pro

Cult of Mac has reported that the 9.7″ iPad Pro is slower than the 12.9″ iPad Pro. After I read the post I started to laugh at it. It is slower they are correct. My problem is that the way they report it is as if Apple intentionally hid the fact from users. Now that they’ve reported it as such other blogs are bound to pick it up and I will be inundated with post after post talking about the “slower” iPad Pro. Ughhh!

Yes the 9.7″ iPad Pro is slower. In their post they have a screenshot from the Apple site that shows the 9.7″ iPad Pro’s A9x is 4.3x faster than the A7. While the 12.9″ iPad Pro’s A9X is 5x faster.

A9x

Except they don’t go on to highlight the other obvious differences between the  two. The fact that while the 12.9″ iPad Pro weighs more than a pound a half, the 9.7″ weighs under a pound. The fact that the 12.9″ iPad Pro is pushing around almost 700×512 pixels more than the 9.7″. Especially since the difference between the two in terms of speed happens to be in the graphics hmmmmm.

In my opinion what Apple has probably done is made the 9.7″ iPad Pro have equal performance to the 12.9″ without sacrificing battery life or potential heating issues. The smaller Pro has less pixels to push around so I’m confident that even though the graphics performance might be slightly less. The user experience is the same if not better because of different factors like weight and size. I had the 12.9″ iPad Pro but had to return it because I had just bought an iPhone 6s and Apple Watch as well. Now that my MacBook Pro is getting a bit long in the tooth I’m considering to buy an iPad Pro later this year. Apple has now made it a decision based on size and nothing else for me. Over the next couple days I just know this “slower iPad Pro” thing is going to make the rounds of the internet.

