Dream big, just not too big

I was listening to the radio on my way to work this morning. The hosts on Virgin Radio were talking about Kanye’s appearance on the Ellen show. I listened to what they were saying and it just struck me. As the father of a 2 year old I try to raise my son with the idea that his potential is limitless. It’s the age old idea that “you can be anything you want if you put your mind to it”. Except that it doesn’t just take hard work. It takes tenacity, self confidence, belief in yourself and your abilities and huge cajones. A problem with the world in my opinion. Is that the “believe in your dreams” attitude is only good until you get older. Then the things that it takes to “live your dreams” are looked at negatively. You can be self confident as long as you know your place. You can believe in yourself as long as your dreams are reasonable. If you are more than others think you should be then you’re arrogant, egotistical, self centered, etc. The hosts of the show were saying that Kanye was possibly mentally ill, deluded, because he thought that he could change the world with his skills. It’s much easier to hop on the “band wagon” and go with what’s cool instead of going against the grain. Right now it’s cool to make fun of Kanye and his attitude or the things he says. I mean how dare he compare fashion to climate change. Yet some have no problem complaining about an iPhone that doesn’t work when there are people living in poverty in other parts of the world. It’s all about perspective and one is not more right than the other.

I remember reading things before Steve Jobs died where people thought he was rude, ego driven, bi polar, maniacal. Yet after he died the same things were then looked upon differently. He had vision, believed deeply in his ideas or pushed others to want more and prove him wrong. At one point people made fun of Michael Jackson with inside jokes and laughter about news stories. After he died he was suddenly praised by the same people as a visionary. I suppose it’s the two faced nature of the world. I’m not saying I agree with everything Kanye West says or does. I like some of his songs, own them but I’m not a super fan by any means. But when he talks I don’t immediately dismiss him or what he’s saying. I listen because there might be things I agree with and others I don’t. I take from it what I find valuable. I don’t make fun of the things I don’t agree with or how he said it. In other words I don’t miss the message because of the way it was delivered. 

