New Year hope

New Year resolutions seem to be a ritual. As a new year approaches people make promises to themselves of things they would like to change. A lot of times they are lofty goals that are never met. Personally I’m doing something different this year. I’m not making resolutions of things I hope to change. Instead I have a hope for this year.

I hope that the people who have the ability and the resources to make real change do it. I hope that celebrities, professional athletes, actors, writers, CEOs, Silicon Valley and global millionaires and billionaires will take note. They have huge power to influence and great resources to help. I hope that they would do something as simple as watching the channel Vice. There are many programs on that channel that open your eyes to the problems not only abroad but in our own backyards.

Shows like Abandoned, Pay Day, and Black Market Dispatch are just a few. They show places that have been abandoned some posing environmental risks, people struggling all over the world and food banks or other resources for the poor and homeless struggling. Imagine people in the US being evicted from their homes over just $15000. An amount that is a drop in the bucket to a millionaire. I know there is no tax benefit or good press. But there is good Karma knowing that you were able to impact someone’s life in a major way.

I hope that celebrities, professional athletes, actors, writers, CEOs, Silicon Valley and global millionaires and billionaires who want to make a change. Will be serious about making a change and not simply paying lip service to the idea.

